Soft Boiled Eggs & Soldiers


HAPPY NEW YEAR EVERYONE!

I’ve got a stinking cold at the moment, and we didn’t make it to midnight last night. I did peep through the window when I heard the fireworks going off though!

Eddie made us boiled eggs this morning. This one is mine, served in an egg cup that I’ve had for around 25 years. There used to be a plate, and possibly a mug too, but I guess they got broken sometime over the years.

Now, I’m sure that there could be some debate about how to boil the perfect egg, but the technique perfected by Team Phillips is as follows:
Boil water in kettle
Place egg(s) in empty pan
Once water is boiled, carefully pour into pan (Eddie’s theory is that this avoid thermal shocking the eggs and making them crack)
Put on the heat for 5 minutes for medium, 6 for large.
In the meantime, toast bread, and butter.
I then prefer to cut off the crusts for dipping in the perfectly runny yolk, then spoon the remainder of the egg onto the remainder of the toast. Eddie also adds pepper.

However you eat yours, what better start to the New Year?

2 Responses to “Soft Boiled Eggs & Soldiers”

  1. Very good eggs even if I do say so myself

  2. I recently rediscovered boiled egg mashed up in a cup with a good knob of butter and seasoning. The Finns call it munavoi ie egg butter and it is now my VERY favourite way of eating eggs. 🙂
    Lovely photos BTW

Leave a Reply

