Pork Chops and Mash with Caramalised Apple

Despite my stinking cold, I managed to put together this tasty meal for dinner on New Year’s Day.

It’s a pretty simple combination –

Mustard Mash
Potatoes are boiled until soft, and then drained. Using the same pan, over a low heat, I melt a little butter, add some skimmed milk, and a teaspoon of wholegrain mustard. The potato is then added back to the hot mixture after being pushed through a potato ricer (This reminds me of my sister remarking that sometimes whole potatoes are found in our mother’s mash!). The whole concoction is then mixed thoroughly to a creamy consistency using a wooden spoon.

Pork Chops cooked in a griddle pan. I brushed olive oil on one side, then seasoned with salt and pepper. This side goes face down onto the pan, and the process can be repeated on the other side. I added some parsley and sage and butter to the top, which slowly melts. When the chops are turned over, this finishes the cooking beautifully, and gives a little flavour to the meat


Caramelised Apples for 2:

I’ve never been a fan of apple sauce, but decided to try Gordon Ramsay’s recipe for caramelised apples when serving pork to some guests. It’s not the exact same recipe, but close.

Take an eating apple (I used a Cox that I found in my fruit bowl) – core, peel, and slice. Lay on a plate and sprinkle with sugar. Melt some butter in a frying pan, and cook the apples for a few minutes on each side, until they start to brown. Throw in some chopped up spring onions, and then serve with your pork.

As for the veg – use what you want, cook how you want – boil, steam, roast – yum!

3 Responses to “Pork Chops and Mash with Caramalised Apple”

  1. thatruth2006 Says:

    Great stuff. I have a blog where I discuss food and cooking.

    Check it out at:

    http://www.zoknowsfood.wordpress.com

    Thanks.

  2. […] Caramalised Apples Slices to accompany pork (there are lots of variations on this) […]

  3. adrianna Says:

    hi my name is adrianna i’m only 12 years old i love masterchef i am inspired by the food that everyone makes i love the idea of having something different added too something from the back your mind but when it comes together it makes the most deliscous meal.

Leave a Reply

