Pepper Chicken



A favourite in the Phillips household is ‘Pepper Chicken’. I think this recipe originally came from some diet plan, but don’t let that put you off!

The dish is prepared in 2 parts:

Rice Pilaf
Chop a handful of mushrooms, and a couple of spring onions. Heat a little olive oil, and soften the vegetables. Add rice (I use about a handful per person, but I have small hands), and mix in. Add some herbs (dry are fine. I recently used fresh parsley, and Eddie spent the whole meal picking it out). Then approx 1 glass of water per portion of rice – I tend to add one glass, and then add extra as appropriate. Bring to the boil, and simmer until the water is absorbed and the rice is cooked.

Pepper Chicken
Chop a red pepper into strips (I use one pepper for 2 people), and cube some chicken  (1 small breast per person is about right). Add a little olive oil to a pan, heat and then add the pepper and chicken. Cook on a medium heat until the chicken is sealed and starts to brown. Add a splash or 2 of soy sauce (I use reduced salt, but the choice is yours), and a splash of sesame oil. Finally add some sesame seeds. Continue to cook over a medium heat until the chicken is cooked right through.

This dish is pretty quick to cook, and excluding preparation usually takes less than 15 minutes. Eddie’s plate is usually clear in 5 minutes…
You’ve probably noticed that I am sometimes a bit vague over quantities. Unless I am trying a brand new recipe from a book, I usually like to work using a visual ‘gauge’ based on personal taste and appetite!

2 Responses to “Pepper Chicken”

  1. that sounds excellent – i am on a mission to use up bits in the fridge – have peppers and chicken so will try this tonight – thanks

  2. helenphillips Says:

    How exciting, I hope you enjoy it. I’m sure it could be adapted to fit other veg you may need to use too.

Leave a Reply

