Weekends are made for Brunch



OK, so this is not a recipe as such. And as it’s Monday, it’s not the weekend any more. But it’s something to think about for the next 5 days…

As far as I’m concerned there is no wrong or right way to do a breakfast like this. Others may call this a “Cooked Breakfast”, or a “Full English / Welsh / Scottish” (delete as appropriate). In my opinion, what makes this a Brunch is the time of day consumed (late morning), and the fact that it includes chips.

On the subject of a good brunch, if you are ever in Plymouth, make sure you visit Goodbody’s. Situated just off Mutley Plain, they have the widest selection of breakfasts I have ever seen. English, Welsh, Scottish, Cornish, Devonshire, and many many more – all with a twist on the basics. And they have Minis on the roof…..

Unfortunately they don’t seem to have their own website, but here is a photograph courtesy of Flickr user Little Miss LaLa – thank you!

4 Responses to “Weekends are made for Brunch”

  1. Anonymous Blog-namer Says:

    Mmm, can’t beat a full Scottish brekkie. Only the Scots would fry sliced scones and Clootie Dumpling in butter and deem it fit to add to a cooked breakfast. :-p (are those my arteries I hear hardening..?)

    I’m also counting down the days until I’m next in Belfast for that ultimate delicacy – the Ulster fry. 32 days to go…

  2. I still call it brunch if the first meal of the day is at half past three!

  3. Scattynobrain Says:

    I haven’t been to Goodbodys in ages – since in fact when I was pregnant and the day of the office move! It was lovely. We used to go there a lot as a child for pasties!

  4. […] of my first posts on this blog (’Weekends are for Brunch“) was about the great British cooked brunch or breakfast, and I recommended Goodbody’s […]

Leave a Reply

