Strawberry Duck

This recipe was a bit of an experiment that fortunately turned out to work! It had been a while since we had Duck, so I grabbed a couple of breasts for our Sunday Dinner without thinking about what sort of sauce I was going to serve with it. Sunday afternoon, and a quick browse of the fridge revealed a large punnet of strawberries. Fruit generally goes well with Duck – a la Orange, blackberries, etc. A quick google told me I wasn’t mad – there are recipes out there that use Strawberries with Duck. So, I investigated my herb & spice cupboard, and identified some ingredients that I could try together in order to create sweet & sour flavours with an Asian slant.

  • 100 ml red wine
  • 1 tbspn red wine vinegar
  • 2 tspns caster sugar
  • 2 tbspn dried cranberries
  • 1 star anise
  • 1 piece of blade mace
  • 1 bay leaf
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed
  • 1/2 cinnamon stick
  • Salt & Pepper to season

The two duck breasts (with skin left on) were marinated in this concotion for several hours, with an occasional turn of the breasts to ensure adequate coating.

Cooking: The duck was removed from the marinade and put skin side down into a hot griddle pan. One the skin is brown, the duck needs to be turned over to seal all sides. With the breasts skin side up, I added the retained marinade to the pan, and brought it slowly to the boil. I then added 100 ml of vegetable stock, again bringing it to the boil. I left it to simmer gently for around 10 minutes before adding the chopped strawberries (around 2 handfuls in this case). I left the sauce to simmer gently, and it started to thicken. Cooking time will vary depending on how well done you enjoy your duck – for pink duck, just as the sauce thickens should be adequate. If the duck needs more time, you can always add a drop more wine to the sauce. And of course, you can always increase the amounts of the original marinade for larger servings.

I served this with roast potatoes, but mashed potato or potato puree would have worked better in order to soak up the sauce. Vegetables can be whatever you fancy.

2 Responses to “Strawberry Duck”

  1. gastronomy612 Says:

    i’ve never made duck at home. It reminds me of cold cold winter nights though, so I think that adding fresh strawberries was a greay way to “summer it up”! Sounds delicious.

  2. I love experiments that actually work – this doesn’t happen very often with me!!

Leave a Reply

