Strawberries & Cream

 

I don’t think I’ve written about a dessert on here yet, so it’s probably about time I did. I don’t really cook desserts or puddings that often, hence the lack of recipes.  This one was yet again a bit of an experiment, but inspired by a ‘raspberry pizza’ recipe I saw in Good Food Magazine (July 2007). It’s really a twist on Strawberries & Cream – a real summer delight. The quantities quoted are just right for 2 people. Or you could be mean and stretch it to 4!

For the bases you will need around 300g shortcrust pastry (I cheated and bought pre-made stuff), and a pastry cutter (I used a 88mm one). The pastry needs to be rolled allowing 4 bases to be cut.

Pre-heat the oven to 180c, and then bake the pastry for 10 minutes.

For the topping you will need:

Around 75 ml Double Cream, whipped until fluffy. Then add one tablespoon of caster sugar (I used vanilla which I make at home), and fold in until completely dissolved in.

To make a caramel, melt 1 oz butter, 1 tablespoon double cream and one tablespoon of caster sugar (again I used vanilla). Cook gently for 5 minutes, and then mix in the Zest of one small orange (or my case Satsuma!), and around 250g berries (I used strawberries & blackberries). I also added in a tablespoon of chopped mint.

Pile the Berry mix onto the bases, and add a spot (or dollop!) of cream to the top. Serve, and eat quickly before the cream melts!

One Response to “Strawberries & Cream”

  1. They look fab and so simple too. My daughter and I have just been for a walk and picked a few blackberries (Im sure they are really early this year?) – the blackberry strawberry combo is amazing!

Leave a Reply

