Cranberry Sauce

I’ve never been a big fan of cranberry sauce, but I’ve only really had the jarred stuff, and I am starting to enjoy more fruit & meat combinations.

So, when I came across Jeannie.H’s wonderful looking recipe on Flickr, I thought maybe I should give it a try. I’d bought some fresh cranberries anyway to go with the duck that we’re having for Christmas dinner, so all the ingredients were already available to me.
As there are only 2 of us, I scaled down the recipe to use just 100g cranberries, and adjusted the rest of the ingredients accordingly. I also found that it cooked a lot quicker because of the reduced quantities, so it’s best to keep an eye on how the mixture is doing!

100g of fresh cranberries
Juice of one small orange and it’s zest
25g golden caster sugar
35ml of Port

 

Place the all the ingredients into a saucepan and bring to a gentle simmer dissolving the sugar. Taste the sauce at this stage, I found this amount was quite sweet enough but more sugar can be added if required. Simmer gently and the cranberries start popping (don’t worry, it’s a gentle pop, they won’t start flying around the kitchen!). Turn the heat down and gently simmer (the sauce gets quite frothy) until the mixture thickens. I found this took around 6 minutes.
Spoon into a bowl, cover with some cling film, and leave to cool, before storing in the fridge.

I couldn’t believe how simple this recipe was, and am really looking forward to tasting it properly tomorrow!

One Response to “Cranberry Sauce”

  1. […] Cranberry Sauce will the same that I’ve made for the previous 2 Christmas dinners. This year, we’ll […]

Leave a Reply

