Chicken Risotto

Ages and ages ago, I posted a mushroom risotto recipe, which had been created from a seemingly bare cupboard. The challenge was slightly different this time – I had chicken, chicken stock, and needed something to fulfil my new and exciting(!) diet regimen – and isn’t as pretty!  As always, we had lots of Arborio rice in the store cupboard (so much in fact, we’re going to have to eat a lot of it before moving!), so risotto seemed a viable option. Being new to this WeightWatchers milarky, I thought I’d check their site to see how risotto fits in which their concept. I very easily found a recipe for mushroom risotto, for 5 points, so it would seem that the rice isn’t too bad a thing. This encouraged me to make up my own chicken version, also using what vegetables I had. So, here’s what I came up with for 6.5 points:

  • Spray light (around 5 sprays)
  • 15g dried mushrooms (I used Asda’s ‘Exotic Mix’)
  • 30g roasted chicken (leftover from Sunday in this case)
  • 1 garlic clove (or teaspoon if using a lazy version)
  • 60g courgette
  • 40g white mushrooms
  • 70g red onion, finely chopped
  • 60ml white wine (you can use red, but I find it turns the rice pink!)
  • 75g Arborio rice
  • 375ml chicken stock (I make my own, making sure any fat is skimmed off)
  • Salt’n’Pepper to taste

Soak the dried mushrooms in enough hot water to cover, according to the packet instructions. Heat a non-stick pan, and spray with the fry light. Add in onion, and cook gently for a few minutes, before stirring in the garlic, white mushrooms, and courgette. When the vegetables have softened, stir in the rice, and then the wine. Stir occasionally until the wine is absorbed. Then start to add the stock, a little at a time, remembering to keep stirring so that it doesn’t stick. Add more stock as it gets absorbed. Once all the stock is added, test the rice to see if it is ready. You may need a little extra water, but I didn’t find that to be the case. Season to taste.

Of course, if you want to push the boat out, stir in a little butter and/or parmasan at the end!

January 12th 2010 - Chicken Risotto

Leave a Reply

