Summer Pasta

What’s this? A food post? It’s been a while, but it’s about time this blog returned to it’s roots. Unsurprisingly, moving across the Atlantic has taken over everything. My cookbooks and kitchen equipment are all in a container waiting to be shipped across the ocean, so I’ve been pretty much sticking to well known recipes. But today I fancied something different. The sun has made a comeback to Minnesota, so something summery for dinner was called for. We had roast chicken for dinner yesterday, so the other requirement was to use some of the leftovers. Beth at Jam and Clotted Cream blogged a fantastic looking Lemon Carbonara a few days back, which obviously planted some seeds in my mind, and I was fancying pasta. I don’t often do pasta with chicken, as it usually means a creamy sauce, and I’m not a huge fan. My husband is even awkwarder, and doesn’t do cream or cheese! I also had some asparagus, which always goes nicely with chicken. I’m going to leave quantities to viewer discretion, as I didn’t measure anything as I threw in ingredients, so please, adjust to your own tastes!

First off, I pre-cooked the asparagus. I would have steamed it, but my lovely silicone steamer basket is in the aforementioned container, so they were boiled.

The other ingredients included sliced onion, and sliced mushrooms, which were sautéed until soft. The next additions were a jalapeño pepper (which actually failed to give the dish any heat), and garlic. These were followed by halved cherry tomatoes (to make the sauce a bit juicier), and then basil and seasoning.

The final additions to the sauce were the cooked chicken and asparagus. The pasta only took 5 minutes to cook, so just enough to make sure the final ingredients were heated right through.

For the past few years I have always bought fresh pasta, rather than dried. I haven’t seen any here yet, so may have to make my own once my pasta machine makes an appearance with the rest of our goods. The pasta of choice today was Angel Hair, and a low carb product which I haven’t seen before. Dreamfields make a range of pasta which are low in carbs, lower GI, and higher fibre. And it tastes great! Bargain. The second photo shows the cooked pasta shortly before I dropped the fork in the boiling water. And then on my bare foot.

To make this dish perfect, add some parmasan. Then pour yourself a glass of white wine (Pinot Grigio?), and take your plate outside and dine alfresco.

4 Responses to “Summer Pasta”

  1. The pictures look so good, and it make me feel so hungry. This is a very good recipe. Thanks for sharing.

  2. helenphillips Says:

    Thanks for stopping by Tes

  3. Thanks for the link – this looks good. Glad you are enjoying life on the other side of the pond

  4. helenphillips Says:

    No problem Beth. I hope your site is behaving better for you now.

Leave a Reply

